Speaker for the Dead

Front Cover
Century, 1986 - Space warfare - 415 pages
3072 Reviews
In the aftermath of his terrible war, Ender Wiggin disappeared, and a powerful voice arose: The Speaker for the Dead, who told the true story of the Bugger War.Now, long years later, a second alien race has been discovered, but again the aliens' ways are strange and frightening...again, humans die. And it is only the Speaker for the Dead, who is also Ender Wiggin the Xenocide, who has the courage to confront the mystery...and the truth.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Reading the intro provided a lot of insight. - Goodreads
I've seen some reviews that this is hard to read. - Goodreads
Really amazing story telling. - Goodreads
I love Orson Scott Card's writing. - Goodreads
The ending was far more disappointing than I expected. - Goodreads
Generally an interesting premise and well-told story. - Goodreads

Review: Speaker for the Dead (The Ender Quintet #2)

User Review  - Jade - Goodreads

I'm not a huge fan of Ender's Game and in my first attempts at reading it I felt confused, therefore I didn't like it. I took some time to ponder before making one final try and in the end Iónot ... Read full review

Review: Speaker for the Dead (The Ender Quintet #2)

User Review  - Sarah Stepp - Goodreads

This book shall forever hold a very special place in my heart. I really enjoyed Ender's Game, personally I feel as if Orson Scott Card really upped his game for this second one. The life lessons and ... Read full review

All 327 reviews »

Related books

About the author (1986)

Orson Scott Byron Walley Card, was born in 1951 and studied theater at Brigham Young University. He received his B.A. in 1975 and his M.A. in English in 1981. He wrote plays during that time, including Stone Tables (1973) and the musical, Father, Mother, Mother and Mom (1974). A Mormon, Scott served a two-year mission in Brazil before starting work as a journalist in Utah. He also designed games at Lucas Film Games, 1989-92. He is best known for his science fiction novels, including the popular Ender series. Well known titles include A Planet Called Treason (1979), Treasure Box (1996), and Heartfire (1998). He has also written the guide called How to Write Science Fiction and Fantasy (1990). He is the recipient of a Hugo and a Nebula award. His titles Shadows in Flight, Ruins, and Ender's Game made The New York Times Best Seller List. He is also the author of the First Formic War Series, which includes the titles Earth Unaware and Earth Afire.

Bibliographic information